4.8 out of 5 stars (19 ratings)

Stuart Downing Professional Life Coach, Hypnotherapy4Freedom Reviews

Powered by Trusted Practitioner


Verified Client

Highly recommended  
L.B.B. on March 19, 2018 at 22:41:42
I would like to highly recommend Stuart Downing as an excellent Hypnotherapist. When I began therapy it was important to me that I felt I could completely trust the person with whom I was going to share my worries, fears and anxieties; I instantly felt when I met Stuart that I could do this. He is non-judgemental and has a wonderful ability and insight to help you believe in yourself, and any dreams, challenges and goals could be achieved. I feel more confident as a person and I have learnt it is alright to be me. I am still climbing my mountain, but I know and believe I will reach the top!

Verified Client

So much change in just one session!  
R Kej on March 18, 2018 at 08:00:20
I went to see Stuart for a balloon phobia. I found Stuart to be very warm and welcoming. He was able to alleviate my anxieties about having hypnotherapy. Just one session from Stuart has really helped me to be calmer around balloons, although I still have some anxiety depending on the situation. Its made me much more confident and more relaxed in social situations, and although I wasn't able to have balloons at my son's 1st birthday, I feel really confident that there will be plenty of balloons at his 2nd birthday. The tips that Stuart gave about staying calmer around balloons was really useful. I don't feel 100% confident around balloons yet, but it is certainly worth investigating in a second session to completely get over this phobia, especially after the significant shift following just one session. Thank you Stuart.

Verified Client

Highly recommended as a Life Coach.  
Paul Davies Frtca CiM on March 15, 2018 at 11:31:55
Stuart Downing is highly recommended as a professional Life Coach. His experience and background provided an ideal starting point in order to help us reach set goals and acheive what we set out to do.

Verified Client

Noticeable differences within first couple of sessions.  
Alex Godsall on March 14, 2018 at 14:53:16
I went to see Stuart to try and combat a relapse of social anxiety. I had begun to find it difficult to cope in some social situations, especially when personally interacting with strangers. Within a couple of sessions with Stuart, I immediately began to notice differences in my behaviour, for example I was able to say some things I would not have been able to before, and also my voice had also become a lot louder compared with how I spoke previously. I definitely believe I made the right decision in seeing Stuart as I would never have been where I am now if I had not. I am now planning on travelling abroad alone as well as attending university, two things I would never have thought I would be doing if I were asked prior to my sessions; it has certainly made me realise how much I really can do by myself.

Verified Client

Confidence building  
Undisclosed on March 10, 2018 at 23:59:19
I came to see Stuart as I became physically ill because of bullying in the work place and being manipulated to work long hours by my previous employers. I had lost a lot of weight, could not stop crying and vomiting because of fear of how I would be treated by some of my colleagues. Stuart gave me the confidence to go to my new job and move past what had happened to me. I now work for a fair employer, get paid more, have a fantastic work life balance and my new colleagues treat me with kindness and respect. Stuart taught me that my instincts were right, that I made the correct decisions about resigning and not to let my past employers bad behaviour effect or spoil my future. I now know that if faced with a with a similar situation in the future, that it is ok to remove myself from it. That you cannot change people and that I will move onto better things. Stuart made me trust people again and made sure my bad experience did not scar me or effect my personality.

Verified Client

Wonderful Treatment :)  
G.D on March 08, 2018 at 09:34:49
When I came to see Stuart I had extreme anxiety, The sessions put me in a much calmer place and allowed me to see my anxiety from a different perspective. At the time I felt my anxiety was in total control of my life , Stuart made me realise I was feeding my anxiety and I am the one in control not the other way round. Stuart taught me many tools which I use and my anxiety is definitely less present. My husband really noticed the difference and encouraged me to have more sessions with Stuart. I would highly recommend Stuart, the treatment has been a real positive in my life :)

Verified Client

unbelieveable  
Max on March 08, 2018 at 09:20:05
Fabulous was addicted to vapes and haven't touch one since i went to see stuart, also have recommended friends and all have quit smoking! amazing thanks you!!

Verified Client

Life changing  
R. Evans on March 07, 2018 at 23:28:53
I had an intense fear of spiders for as long as I could remember. This fear incapacitated me in that I would always be looking for spiders. If I saw a spider or anticipated a spider might be present I would be anxious. Friends had to remove the spider otherwise I could not stay in the room. Two sessions with Stuart changed my life . I will now go into the garden shed, enjoy the gardening without fear of spiders and not scan a room everytime I walk in for fear of seeing a spider. I won’t say I love spiders now but I deal with them in a more balance way. All thanks to Stuart. I would highly recommend anyone with a similar issue give hypnotherapy a go.

Verified Client

Sometimes you just need perspective!  
Miss K C on March 05, 2018 at 19:25:12
Prior to visiting stuart I felt overwhelmed at work. I kept having pains in my chest and anxiety issues caused by my thoughts that 'my best was just not good enough'. Since the sessions, I have a couple of reminders in my armoury, one being that I should focus on the colour red to calm me down when things go out of perspective. I still worry and clearly this is part of my personality, but Stuart help me come to the realisation that I was actually trying to carry/do too much. Now when I feel things are getting on top of me, I am trying to be more accepting that that is because it is too much for anyone and see fault in the system, than in myself.
Stuart Downing Professional Life Coach, Hypnotherapy4Freedom:  Hi Kate , thank you for the review, much appreciated Kind regards Stuart

« Previous  

Hi Stuart

Just wanted to send you an email to say hello and let you know how I’m getting on.
Firstly, thank you sooooooo much for the session. I’ve never felt so content and at ease with myself after we met. I’ve since ‘come down’ from the high but I’m so much more happier than when I came to see you which was an unexpected and amazing bonus.
As for the smoking, it has been 2 months and 18 days since I last succumbed and smoked a cigarette! Something I thought was impossible before our session. In the first week there were pangs and the odd moment where I felt like having one but something seemed and stop me and I’d almost get a kick from not having one. I’d picture myself at the fork in the road and always choose the right path. Now, I can’t believe that I ever smoked and feel sorry for those that do. I just feel free. No longer trapped and destined to repeat the same mistake.
I’ve also been looking after myself and my body a lot more. I’ve started to go to the gym almost every day and I’ve began eating a more healthy diet. I’ve even got (the beginnings of, admittedly)  a six pack! I can run for much longer and just feel better in myself and in my body. I really can’t believe how much I’ve changed. I’m positive there are other ways that I’ve changed but they’re so subtle I haven’t noticed.
Jamie Jan 2018
Jamie

* Hypnotherapy4Freedom does not guarantee the effectiveness of treatment in any individual cases see more.

“I am the mother of a teenage son who suffers from anxiety and OCD.

He did not sleep through the night until he was 14 and then it was only with yoga breathing and a great deal of time spent that he relaxed enough to drift off and stay asleep all night.

A disturbing incident in his primary school years compounded the problem and as he reached his mid teens, his anxiety was causing self destructive behaviour.

After a series of visits to Stuart, my son has re-gained his self confidence and his belief that he is capable of controlling what happens to him. This is a major achievement and I will be eternally grateful to Stuart for turning around the negative thoughts of fear and exposure to disaster that were in my son’s mind and affected his every waking moment. Particularly at night when he was terrified by nightmares and night terrors.

My son is now a different person. He has self control, he can calm his mind and relax in order to think clearly and positively about daily challenges. This priceless skill he has learnt from Stuart. He is changing his social behaviour and taking care of himself more.

I am so proud of the strong young man that he has grown into and I thank Stuart for helping him to turn a crucial corner.

Stuart has helped to turn my son away from a dangerous road and I am incredibly thankful for that.

A happy mother.”

Dawn, October 2016

* Hypnotherapy4Freedom does not guarantee the effectiveness of treatment in any individual cases see more.

“If you’re reading this testimonial then I can only assume that you are looking for help with something that is negatively impacting your life in a huge way. Ultimately, if you’re anything like me when I was researching life-coaches/hypnotherapists, you’re probably sceptical of the claims that in a few sessions something that has plagued your everyday existence, probably for quite some time, can magically disappear.

 

I had suffered with depression and anxiety for a number of years before seeing Stuart and had become accustomed and almost oblivious, to the dysfunctional behavioural patterns that this had left behind. I had initially rung Stuart to ask for help in interviews as this was where I felt my anxiety really got the better of me and was holding me back from progressing professionally.

 

I had developed a strategy of deflecting situations before they got to the point of inflicting anxiety. Where this was successful in some situations, it was impossible to do whilst searching for work. After a few sessions with Stuart, I began to understand that avoidance, although successful in keeping anxiety at bay 9 times out of 10, was responsible for me missing opportunities in all aspects of life; not just in terms of job prospects. To think that I had been holding myself back for so long was a sad realisation, but I was glad that I had taken the plunge to move on and progress.

 

It took a while for me to be able to talk more freely about my experiences that led to my current state with Stuart and for him to gain a better feel for how to deal with me during our sessions. This was by no means a reflection on him; in fact it’s a small miracle that anyone was able to coax this information out of me and that alone is praiseworthy. His patience and relaxed demeanour really helped me to feel at ease without feeling as though I was in a counselling session – which I was strongly averse to. When I felt unable to communicate my feelings to him, he would take the pressure off and help me in conveying my emotions – which was a major help.

 

Little by little I noticed that the positive changes we had implemented were beginning to take affect. At first these things weren’t noticeable until after I had achieved them and I would take a step back to revel in how I’d accomplished a small goal that would usually cause so much stress without a second thought. Since then the progress has snowballed and I have done so much that I never thought possible. Things that I ultimately should take for granted as normal are starting to feel that way; from making phone calls without feeling sick, to getting in a car and driving again for the first time in 6 years.

 

I have a new job that I had two interviews for and I successfully applied to do my teacher training which I delayed for three years, ultimately as a direct result of these sessions. I still have some work to do on building my self confidence, but it takes time and effort to overcome old habits and nurture the good that was put in place.

 

 

The liberation I have gained from Stuart is worth so much more than what he charges and no amount of thanks can cover it. You can’t put a price on the peace of mind you get knowing that you are living as your fullest self!”

Annabel October 2016

* Hypnotherapy4Freedom does not guarantee the effectiveness of treatment in any individual cases see more.

“After my sessions with Stuart, what I can say is how it’s changed my life, for someone who has been suffering from anxiety for some time now, it was affecting my social life and relationships, having a constant fear of being in places or going out where I felt I didn’t have control, I would always drive so I could escape when I needed to, I would plan the route I was going before leaving the home, even days before going out, social anxiety was taking control.I suffer from MS and have 18 food intolerances, so I had so many other things I couldn’t control this I needed back.I didn’t want to taking pills for anxiety so I searched online for a qualified hypnotherapist and came across Stuart.
My first session was very relaxed, I did get upset and cried, but that’s normal I guess, let out a lot of emotions, how I had been feeling, and was then sat down and helped to relax, Stuart then did his work, spoke to me, I felt so deeply relaxed, I could hear him talking softly, and I drifted of with my own thoughts, he carried on talking.When I awoke I felt very alert, and a little nervous as I thought oh what if I think or talk to people about why I got hypnotised it would come back, well it didn’t Every time I would be in a situation that would normally make me nervous it was like the feeling of talking to somebody and forgetting what it was I was saying, and something else would pop into my head, like food shopping or a holiday.As the weeks went on I didn’t test myself and just carried on as normal, going out, no car, other people driving, social events and the next day I would think wow I did that..I cannot thank Stuart enough and I recommend all my friends and family who also suffer with some type of anxiety to see him…. He gave me my life back “

May 2016

* Hypnotherapy4Freedom does not guarantee the effectiveness of treatment in any individual cases see more.

“As a 20 year smoker, a session with Stuart gave me the additional tools and willpower to finally stop. I have to say that the work we did together has enabled me to adopt a significantly healthier lifestyle. I have recommended Stuart to several friends and have had nothing but positive feedback.”*

DP Coventry

* Hypnotherapy4Freedom does not guarantee the effectiveness of treatment in any individual cases see more.

“Having seen the success that Stuart Downing achieved with a friend in Lanzarote.  I decided to book an appointment.  One session later and I have been smoke-free for over 2 weeks with minimal cravings.  I feel confident that this is for good.  Thanks a million.  Jackie”*

Jackie Lanzarote

* Hypnotherapy4Freedom does not guarantee the effectiveness of treatment in any individual cases see more.

“I had smoked cigarettes since my late teens.  I did not think that I could ever give up smoking.  I was conscious that I was missing out on activities with my friends.  Precluded from going inside anywhere.  So, whilst in Lanzarote I contacted Stuart Downing to arrange a consultation.  I thought that I would give hypnotherapy a try.  Much to my amazement it worked.  For the first 3 days I had longings for a cigarette every now and then but would use Stuart’s technique to combat those feelings.  All my friends are also suitably amazed that Stuart in their eyes has performed an absolute miracle and there is a queue forming to follow in my footsteps – for once!   So after smoking for 47 years, I am now an ex-smoker.  Have no aching muscles and I feel 5 years younger.” Liz K March 2016 *

Liz K Lanzarote

* Hypnotherapy4Freedom does not guarantee the effectiveness of treatment in any individual cases see more.

* In the week since my first session for depression, I have already enjoyed more ‘good’ days than I used to get in a year on anti-depressants.

RS Warwick

* Hypnotherapy4Freedom does not guarantee the effectiveness of treatment in any individual cases see more.

* He really took an interest in my individual case and attended to my specific needs – rather than just presenting a generalised weight loss package. He did a combination of weight control and alcohol control and I managed to drink less wine and to lose 2.5 stone.

WH Tamworth

* Hypnotherapy4Freedom does not guarantee the effectiveness of treatment in any individual cases see more.

* Hypnosis helped me with my spider phobia and another time to support me with my confidence prior to a job interview. Both were a complete success. I can now remove a spider from my house without crying and hyperventilating. And I got the job! The techniques and strategies that I was taught were invaluable and totally useful, in fact I try to use them most days now.

JW Birmingham

* Hypnotherapy4Freedom does not guarantee the effectiveness of treatment in any individual cases see more.